Skip to content

The Deyneka Award

*Please note that the deadline for the Deyneka Award has passed, and the submission process has closed for this year.

The submission process will reopen in 2020.

Guidelines for the Deyneka Award

Mission Eurasia, formerly known as Peter Deyneka Russian Ministries, has established the Deyneka Award as a way to honor the legacy of our founders, Rev. Peter Deyneka, Jr. and his wife, Anita, and to encourage ongoing excellence and innovation in missions throughout Eurasia/former Soviet Union.

Our late founder, Rev. Peter Deyneka, Jr. was a beloved missions statesman who devoted his entire life to spreading the gospel throughout the former Soviet Union. He served with his father, Peter Deyneka, Sr., at the Slavic Gospel Association (SGA)—a mission that his father founded in 1932—and succeeded him as president of SGA in 1975. Peter Deyneka, Jr. served as president of SGA until 1991, when he and Anita founded Peter Deyneka Russian Ministries (PDRM) to react quickly and decisively to new, unprecedented opportunities for missions following the collapse of the Soviet Union. Peter served as President of PDRM (now Mission Eurasia) until his death in 2000. Anita later served as President from 2002-2010. We thank God for the exemplary service of the Deynekas, and Mission Eurasia is honored to offer this award in their name.

Below are guidelines for the award:

  • The Deyneka Award is a monetary prize of $5,000 that will be awarded every other year, beginning in the fall of 2016.
  • Nominees for the Deyneka Award must be evangelical Christians, and can be from within or from outside of the Mission Eurasia network.
  • Preference will be given to emerging national leaders working in the territories of Eurasia/former Soviet Union.
  • The Deyneka Award will be given for projects that reflect the mission and vision of Mission Eurasia, contributing to the increased impact of the gospel and growth of the national church in the territories of Eurasia/former Soviet Union.
  • Areas of ministry that qualify for the Deyneka Award include (but are not limited to): leadership training, evangelism, church-planting, pastoral ministries, research, publishing, family ministries, orphan ministries, humanitarian outreach, and others.
  • Nominations are accepted through September 30, 2018, with the award decision made in November 2018.
  • Nominations can be made by the person seeking the award or by another individual.
  • Applications can be submitted online or by mail.
  • Award recipients may be requested to provide a brief accounting of how the award money is used.

*Please note that the deadline for the Deyneka Award application has passed, and the application process is closed for this year.
The submission process will reopen in 2020.